Hello, we are SO EXCITED that you have found us!
The United Church of Cohoes is a vibrant church community located in the heart of the city. Click on our Location to find out exactly where. We are led by Sr. Pastor, Rev. Nick TeBordo who has been our pastor for 40 years now! Kaitlyn T. Wood and Tim Flynn also lead from the pulpit on a weekly basis. The UCC is an ECO Presbyterian congregation of about 150 members. You can find our core values on the What we Believe page. Our church leads by being strongly rooted in our community. Want to find out more? Visit our Ministries page.
40 Years Ago: On June 1, 1977 Rev. Nicholas E. TeBordo and Rev. Terrie J. Stine-TeBordo graduated from Princeton Seminary, where they had met years before. In search of a church who would take a husband-and-wife team they heard the call to The United Church of Cohoes and started work there the very afternoon they first stepped foot into the building. For the next 26 years, the duo would pour their hearts and souls into the congreation and the community. Terrie created a thriving youth program and counseled many through sickness and grief. Nick’s excitement and passion radiated in the city, bringing in new families that would soon call the church “home”. Even after Terrie’s sudden passing in 2003 the congregation continued to carry out God’s work and still does to this day. Programs like Vacation Bible School, the Food Pantry, Matthew 25 Community Dinners and iconic events such as the Election Day Dinner and the Rumage Sale are just a few of the things that helps shape the church’s identity. With new programs and new faces, the United Church of Cohoes continues to thrive.
History of the Church from the Spindle City Historical Society: The Dutch Reformed Church of Cohoes was organized in 1837 by groups of Dutch, Swiss, Scotch and English ancestry. These early citizens of Cohoes were primarily farmers, blacksmiths, carpenters and factory employees. The cornerstone of the first church was laid in 1838. Prior to that time, services were held in the seaming room of the Egbert and Bailey Woolen Mill, located on the corner of White and Remsen Streets. In April of 1859, the first church was torn down to make room for a new church, which was dedicated on April 11, 1860. The organ in the church was donated by Cohoes industrialists Egbert Egberts, David J. Johnston, and John V.S. Lansing. More information on Cohoes industrialists can be found in the Spindle City Historic Society’s Harmony Mills Historic District and Worker Housing tour brochures, and on the interpretive signs in Power Canal Park. The Dutch Reformed Church joined with the congregation of the Silliman Memorial Presbyterian Church in 1969 to form the United Church of Cohoes. The Silliman Memorial Church, which once stood on the corner of Ontario and Mohawk Streets, was constructed by Cohoes philanthropist and industrialist Horace Brinsmade Silliman. He dedicated the church in memory of his parents, Levi and Clarissa, who were instrumental in founding the Presbyterian congregation in Cohoes. This site is now Silliman Park, and contains an interpretive sign with more about the life and legacy of Horace B. Silliman.